Council Leadership List

Current as of June 2023



COUNCIL STEERING COMMITTEE (CSC) OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Loubna Freih, CSC Co-Chair, HRW Board Member
Siri Stolt-Nielsen, CSC Co-Chair, HRW Board Member, Ambassador for Oslo
Rami Bibi, London Committee
Thom Calma, Sydney Committee
Barbara Fry Henchoz, Zurich Committee
Michelle Meneley, Canada Committee Co-Chair
Fergal Mullen, Geneva Committee
Tine Niemeyer, Miami Committee Co-Chair
Glenda Nühn-Morris, Netherlands Committee Co-Chair
Gloria Principe, HRW Board Member, Silicon Valley Committee Chair
Supriya Saxena, New York Committee Co-Chair
Donna Slaight, C.M., HRW Board Member, Canada Committee
Masa Yanagisawa, HRW Board Member, Tokyo Committee

HUMAN RIGHTS WATCH COMMITTEES

Belgium

Alexandra Van Campenhout, Co-Chair Michael James Gardner, Co-Chair Boris Vervoordt, Co-Chair Janneke Dreesmann, Founding Chair Christophe Tanghe, Founding Chair

Canada

Susan Guichon, Co-Chair Michelle Meneley, Co-Chair Jacques Frémont, Ottawa Chair

Chicago

Mitch Cobey, Co-Chair Sheila Roche, Co-Chair Judy Gaynor, Founding Co-Chair Susan Manilow, Founding Co-Chair Ellen Alberding, Chair Emerita Terri Abruzzo, Co-Chair Emerita Elizabeth Cicchelli, Co-Chair Emerita Margaret Duncan, Chair Emerita Dedrea Gray, Co-Chair Emerita Carolyn Grisko, Chair Emerita William F. Mahoney, Chair Emeritus Grace Newton, Chair Emerita Shalini Sharma, Co-Chair Emerita

Geneva

Fergal Mullen, Chair Adla El Sayegh, Vice Chair

Germany

Isabel Alfes, Executive Committee Member Antonia Josten, Executive Committee Member Harald Kosch, Executive Committee Member Dr. Thomas Rüschen, Executive Committee Member

London

Emily Goldner, Co-Chair Miranda Dunbar Johnson, Co-Chair Sheridan Prior, Co-Chair

Los Angeles

Ahmos Hassan, Co-Chair Barbara Silberbusch, Co-Chair Jonathan Feldman, Vice Chair Jane Olson, Co-Founder
Kimberly Marteau Emerson, Co-Chair Emerita
Mike Farrell, Co-Chair Emeritus
Leslie Gilbert-Lurie, Co-Chair Emerita
Shari Leinwand, Co-Chair Emerita
Victoria Riskin, Co-Chair Emerita
Rica Rodman, Co-Chair Emerita
William D. Temko, Co-Chair Emeritus

Melbourne

Wendy Brooks, Chair

Miami

Tine Niemeyer, Co-Chair Joy Stampler Fishman, Co-chair

The Netherlands

Glenda Nühn-Morris, Co-Chair Erik Westerink, Co-Chair Imogen Koster-Burbidge, Vice Chair Françoise van Rappard, Vice Chair

New York

Kate Todrys, Co-Chair Supriya Saxena, Co-Chair Kristen Durkin, Chair Emerita Michael G. Fisch, Chair Emeritus Kevin P. Ryan, Chair Emeritus Amy Towers, Chair Emerita

Paris

Mercedes Erra, Co-Chair Virginie Morgon, Co-Chair Jean-Louis Servan-Schreiber, Founding Chair*

San Francisco

Ipek S. Burnett, Co-Chair Leigha Weinberg, Co-Chair David Keller, Chair Emeritus Lore H. McGovern, Chair Emerita Nancy J. Parrish, Chair Emerita Amy Rao, Chair Emerita Orville Schell, Chair Emeritus Darian W. Swig, Chair Emerita

Santa Barbara

Graciela Montgomery, Co-Chair Rita Moya, Co-Chair Roman Baratiak, Vice Chair
Alisa Freundlich, Vice Chair, Leadership &
Governance
Gwyn Lurie, Vice Chair, Fundraising
Casey Rogers, Vice Chair, Program & Outreach
Sue Wagner, Vice Chair
Cheryl Justice, Co-Chair Emerita
Victoria Riskin, Co-Chair Emerita
Susan Rose, Co-Chair Emerita
Fiona Stone, Co-Chair Emerita
John Steed, Vice Chair Emeritus
Susan Washing, Vice Chair Emerita

Silicon Valley

Gloria Principe, Chair Amy Rao, Chair Emerita Sofie Vandeputte, Chair Emerita

Stockholm

Ulrika Laurin, Chair

Sydney

Penny Gerstle, Chair

Tokyo

Oki Matsumoto, Chair Takashi Murata, Vice Chair Tomas Olsson, Vice Chair Mamoru Taniya, Vice Chair Masa Yanagisawa, Vice Chair

Zurich

Walter Kielholz, Chair Manuel Ebner, Vice Chair Cristina Bechtler, Co-Chair Emerita Thomas Bechtler, Chair Emeritus Mariel Hoch, Co-Chair Emerita

AMBASSADORS

Mohamed Bouamatou - Mauritania Hina Jilani - Lahore Julie de Luxembourg - Geneva Victoria Riskin - Santa Barbara Siri Stolt-Nielsen – Oslo

CIRCLE OF FRIENDS

Copenhagen São Paulo